# 4th International Congress on Ceramics

save the date

www.ceramics.org/icc4

# Bringing business leaders & ceramic materials professionals together, defining opportunities and challenges for current and next generation technologies.

The American Ceramic Society, under the auspices of the International Ceramic Federation and in cooperation with the European Ceramic Society and The Ceramic Society of Japan, is pleased to organize and host the 4<sup>th</sup> International Congress on Ceramics. ICC4 is a global event designed to foster discussion and planning concerning issues facing the world-wide ceramic & glass community. If you are a leader in the field, you must attend this meeting hosted in Chicago, Illinois July 15-19, 2012. ICC4 proposed theme areas include: Environment; Energy; Infrastructure; Transportation; Aerospace; Biology and Medicine; Security; Electro-, Magnetic-, Optical-Ceramics and Devices; and Nanostructured Ceramics. Join delegates in a global information exchange, network with your peers and share your perspective at ICC4.

#### **Now Accepting Speaker Nominations**

Suggestions for invited speakers for any of the designated themes are welcome. Send nominations including speaker name, address, e-mail and topic to icc4@ceramics.org by February 1, 2011.

#### **Endorsing Societies**

Associação Brasileira de Cerâmica

**Australian Ceramic Society** 

**Belgian Ceramic Society** 

**Czech Silicate Society** 

**Finnish Ceramic Society** 

**Georgian Ceramists Association** 

**Indian Ceramic Society** 

**Italian Ceramic Society** 

**Materials Research Society of Latvia** 

**Polish Ceramic Society** 

Romanian Ceramic Society (CEROM)

Scientific Society of the Silicate Industry - Hungary

**Slovak Silicate Society** 

**Turkish Ceramic Society** 

**World Academy of Ceramics** 

## **Technical Programming Committee**

**Katherine Faber**, Northwestern University ICC4 President and Technical Program Co-Chair

**Edgar Lara-Curzio**, Oak Ridge National Lab ICC4 Technical Program Co-Chair

Tate Coverdale, BASF

Stephen Freiman, NIST (Ret.)

Kevin Fox, Savanna River National Lab

Christian Hoffmann, TDK

Vivek Pawar, Smith & Nephew, Inc.

Aleksander Pyzik, Dow Chemical

Todd Steyer, The Boeing Company

**Susan Trolier-McKinstry**, Pennsylvania State University

**Greg Geiger**, The American Ceramic Society

Mark Mecklenborg, The American Ceramic Society





# 4th International Congress on Ceramics

save the date www.ceramics.org/icc4

### **International Advisory Committee**

**Gian Nicola Babini**, Italian Ceramic Society, Italy **Alida Bellosi**, CNR-ISTEC, Institute for Science and

Technology for Ceramics, Italy

**Lennart Bergstrom**, Stockholm University, Sweden

Chris Berndt, Swinburne Univ. of Technology, Australia

Liga Berzina-Cimdina, Riga Technical Univ., Latvia

Richard Brook, Imperial College, UK

**Leonardo Curimbaba Ferreira**, Associação Brasileira de Cerâmica, Brazil

Monica Ferraris, Polytechnic of Torino, Italy

Lian Gao, Shanghai Jia Tong Univ., China,

Stuart Hampshire, Univ. of Limerick, Ireland

Juergen Heinrich, Univ. of Clausthal, Germany

**Shin-ichi Hirano**, National Institution for Academic Degrees and Univ. Evaluation, Japan

Jow-Lay Huang, National Cheng Kung Univ., Taiwan

Sylvia Johnson, NASA Ames Research Center, USA

**Suk-Joong L. Kang**, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea

Hai-Doo Kim, Korea Institute of Materials Science, Korea

Zviad Kovziridze, Georgia Technical Univ., USA

**Thomas Kronberg**, Ido Bathroom Ltd, Sanitec Group, Finland

Karel Lang, P-D Refractories CZ a.s., Czech Republic

William Lee, Imperial College, UK

**Kathryn Logan**, Georgia Institute of Technology and Virginia Tech, USA

**Hongjie Luo**, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Hasan Mandal, Anadolu Univ., Turkey

**Akio Makishima**, Japan Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Japan

Karsten Agersted Nielsen, Risoe National Lab, Denmark

Koichi Niihara, Nagaoka Univ. of Technology, Japan

Tatsuki Ohji, AIST, Japan

Maria Preda, Univ. Politehnica of Bucharest, Romania

**Zbigniew Pedzich**, AGH - Univ. of Science and Technology, Poland

Jose Ygnacio Pastor, Polytechnic Univ. of Madrid, Spain

**Suprakas Sinha Ray**, The National Centre for Nanostructured Materials, CSIR, South Africa

Pavol Saigalik, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia

**Janos Szepvolgyi**, Scientific Society of the Silicate Industry, Hungary

Omer Van der Biest, Leuven Univ., Belgium

Petro Vincenzini, World Academy of Ceramics, Italy

Paolo Zannini, Univ. of Modena, Italy

#### **Steering Committee**

Kristen Brosnan, General Electric

Katherine Faber, Northwestern Univ.

Christine Heckle, Corning Incorporated

Edgar Lara-Curzio, Oak Ridge National Lab

H.T. Lin, Oak Ridge National Lab

**Gary Messing**, Pennsylvania State Univ.

Marina Pascucci, CeraNova Corporation

L. David Pye, Alfred Univ. (Ret.)

Mrityunjay Singh, Ohio Aerospace Institute

George Wicks, Savannah River National Lab

Mark Mecklenborg, The American Ceramic Society

Charlie Spahr, The American Ceramic Society

### **Chicago Host Committee**

Stephen Gonczy, Gateway Materials Inc.

Thomas Mason, Northwestern Univ.

**Jennifer Mawdsley**, Argonne National Lab

Paramita Mondel, Univ. of Illinois

Dileep Singh, Argonne National Lab

Carol Thompson, Northern Illinois Univ.

Richard Weber, Materials Development Inc.